• Awards

2014 Critics’ Choice Awards Winners Unveiled

With red carpet season in full swing, the 2014 Critics’ Choice Movie Awards held court at Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, CA.
Big winners of the night included Matthew McConaughey as Best Actor (Dallas Buyers Club), Cate Blanchett as Best Actress (Blue Jasmine) and 12 Years a Slave as Best Movie – with all three triumphs coming less than a week after the trio took home Golden Globes in their respective categories. Meanwhile, the full list of 2014 Critics’ Choice Movie Awards winners is as follows:
Best Picture
American Hustle
Captain Phillips
Dallas Buyers Club
Inside Llewyn Davis
Saving Mr. Banks
WINNER: 12 Years a Slave
The Wolf of Wall Street
Best Actor
Christian Bale – American Hustle
Bruce Dern – Nebraska
Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave
Tom Hanks – Captain Phillips
WINNER: Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club
Robert Redford – All Is Lost
Best Actress
WINNER: Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine
Sandra Bullock – Gravity
Judi Dench – Philomena
Brie Larson – Short Term 12
Meryl Streep – August: Osage County
Emma Thompson – Saving Mr. Banks
Best Supporting Actor
Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips
Daniel Brühl – Rush
Bradley Cooper – American Hustle
Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave
James Gandolfini – Enough Said
WINNER: Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club
Best Supporting Actress
Scarlett Johansson – Her
Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle
WINNER: Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
Julia Roberts – August: Osage County
June Squibb – Nebraska
Oprah Winfrey – Lee Daniels’ The Butler
Best Young Actor/Actress
Asa Butterfield – Ender’s Game
WINNER: Adele Exarchopoulos – Blue Is the Warmest Color
Liam James – The Way Way Back
Sophie Nelisse – The Book Thief
Tye Sheridan – Mud
Best Acting Ensemble
WINNER: American Hustle
August: Osage County
Lee Daniels’ The Butler
12 Years a Slave
The Wolf of Wall Street
Best Director
WINNER: Alfonso Cuarón – Gravity
Paul Greengrass – Captain Phillips
Spike Jonze – Her
Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave
David O. Russell – American Hustle
Martin Scorsese – The Wolf of Wall Street
Best Original Screenplay
Eric Singer and David O. Russell – American Hustle
Woody Allen – Blue Jasmine
WINNER: Spike Jonze – Her
Joel Coen and Ethan Coen – Inside Llewyn Davis
Bob Nelson – Nebraska
Best Adapted Screenplay
Tracy Letts – August: Osage County
Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke – Before Midnight
Billy Ray – Captain Phillips
Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope – Philomena
WINNER: John Ridley – 12 Years a Slave
Terence Winter – The Wolf of Wall Street
Best Cinematography
WINNER: Emmanuel Lubezki – Gravity
Bruno Delbonnel – Inside Llewyn Davis
Phedon Papamichael – Nebraska
Roger Deakins – Prisoners
Sean Bobbitt – 12 Years a Slave
Best Art Direction
Andy Nicholson (Production Designer) and Rosie Goodwin (Set Decorator) – Gravity
WINNER: Catherine Martin (Production Designer) and Beverley Dunn (Set Decorator) – The Great Gatsby
K.K. Barrett (Production Designer) and Gene Serdena (Set Decorator) – Her
Dan Hennah (Production Designer) and Ra Vincent (Set Decorator) – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Adam Stockhausen (Production Designer) and Alice Baker (Set Decorator) – 12 Years a Slave
Best Editing
Alan Baumgarten, Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers – American Hustle
Christopher Rouse – Captain Phillips
WINNER: Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger – Gravity
Daniel P. Hanley and Mike Hill – Rush
Joe Walker – 12 Years a Slave
Thelma Schoonmaker – The Wolf of Wall Street
Best Costume Design
Michael Wilkinson – American Hustle
WINNER: Catherine Martin – The Great Gatsby
Bob Buck, Lesley Burkes-Harding, Ann Maskrey and Richard Taylor – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Daniel Orlandi – Saving Mr. Banks
Patricia Norris – 12 Years a Slave
Best Hair and Makeup
WINNER: American Hustle
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Lee Daniels’ The Butler
12 Years a Slave
Best Visual Effects
WINNER Gravity
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Iron Man 3
Pacific Rim
Star Trek into Darkness
Best Animated Feature
The Croods
Despicable Me 2
WINNER: Frozen
Monsters University
The Wind Rises
Best Action Movie
The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
Iron Man 3
WINNER: Lone Survivor
Star Trek into Darkness
Best Actor in an Action Movie
Henry Cavill – Man of Steel
Robert Downey Jr. – Iron Man 3
Brad Pitt – World War Z
WINNER: Mark Wahlberg – Lone Survivor
Best Actress in an Action Movie
WINNER: Sandra Bullock – Gravity
Jennifer Lawrence – The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
Evangeline Lilly – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Gwyneth Paltrow – Iron Man 3
Best Comedy
WINNER: American Hustle
Enough Said
The Heat
This Is the End
The Way Way Back
The World’s End
Best Actor in a Comedy
Christian Bale – American Hustle
WINNER: Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street
James Gandolfini – Enough Said
Simon Pegg – The World’s End
Sam Rockwell – The Way Way Back
Best Actress in a Comedy
WINNER: Amy Adams – American Hustle
Sandra Bullock – The Heat
Greta Gerwig – Frances Ha
Julia Louis-Dreyfus – Enough Said
Melissa McCarthy – The Heat
Best Sci-fi/Horror Movie
The Conjuring
Star Trek into Darkness
World War Z
Best Foreign Language Film
WINNER: Blue Is the Warmest Color
The Great Beauty
The Hunt
The Past
Best Documentary Feature
The Act of Killing
Stories We Tell
Tim’s Vermeer
WINNER: 20 Feet from Stardom
Best Song
“Atlas” – Coldplay – The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
“Happy” – Pharrell Williams – Despicable Me 2
WINNER: “Let It Go” – Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez – Frozen
“Ordinary Love” – U2 – Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom
“Please Mr. Kennedy” – Justin Timberlake, Oscar Isaac and Adam Driver – Inside Llewyn Davis
“Young and Beautiful” – Lana Del Rey – The Great Gatsby
Best Score
WINNER: Steven Price – Gravity
Arcade Fire – Her
Thomas Newman – Saving Mr. Banks
Hans Zimmer – 12 Years a Slave