VENICE, ITALY – SEPTEMBER 08: Alfonso Cuaron accepts the Golden Lion Award for ‘Roma’ at the Award Ceremony during the 75th Venice Film Festival at Sala Grande on September 8, 2018 in Venice, Italy. (Photo by Vittorio Zunino Celotto/Getty Images)
  • Festivals

Alfonso Cuarón’s ‘Roma’ Wins Venice

Roma, Alfonso Cuarón’s valentine to his childhood in Mexico City won the Golden Lion at the 75th Venice Film Festival. Accepting the award, Cuarón said that the win was  “incredibly meaningful” to him, and noted that the festival’s closure took place on the birthday of the woman who inspired the film. Cuarón’s Gravity opened the festival in 2013, and, in 2015, he was president of the jury – a role that this year belongs to his friend Guillermo del Toro, winner of the Golden Lion in 2017 with The Shape of Water.

The Grand Jury Prize went to Yorgos Lanthimos’ historical farce The Favourite, with Olivia Colman – who plays Queen Anne in the film – taking the Volpi Cup as Best Actress. Willem Dafoe won the Volpi for Best Actor for his portrayal of Vincent Van Gogh in Julian Schnabel’s At Eternity’s Gate. Best director went to Jacques Audiard for western The Sisters Brothers, with Joel and Ethan Coen receiving the Best Screenplay award for another western, The Ballad of Buster Scruggs. The Nightingale, director Jennifer Kent’s follow up to The Babadook, received a Special Jury Prize; its lead actress, Baykali Ganambarr, took the Marcello Mastroianni Award for Best Young Actor or Actress.

Winners, all: director Jennifer Kent, Special Jury Prize; best actress Olivia Colman; best actor Willem Dafoe.

vittorio zunino celotto/getty images


The full Venice 2018 list:

Golden Lion Roma, dir: Alfonso Cuaron

Grand Jury Prize The Favourite, dir: Yorgos Lanthimos

Silver Lion, Best Director Jacques Audiard, The Sisters Brothers

Volpi Cup, Best Actress Olivia Colman, The Favourite

Volpi Cup, Best Actor Willem Dafoe, At Eternity’s Gate

Best Screenplay Joel & Ethan Coen, The Ballad Of Buster Scruggs

Special Jury Prize The Nightingale, dir: Jennifer Kent

Marcello Mastroianni Award for Best New Young Actor or Actress Baykali Ganambarr, The Nightingale


Best Film Manta Ray, dir: Phuttiphong Aroonpheng

Best Director Ozen (The River), dir: Emir Baigazin

Special Jury Prize Anons (The Announcement), dir: Mahmut Fazil Coskun

Best Actress Natalya Kudryashova, The Man Who Surprised Everyone

Best Actor Kais Nasif, Tel Aviv On Fire

Best Screenplay Pema Tseden, Jinpa

Best Short Film Kado, dir: Aditya Ahmad

Lion of the Future – “Luigi De Laurentiis” Venice Award for a Debut Film The Day I Lost My Shadow, dir: Soudade Kaadan