• Cecil B. DeMille

Eddie Murphy to Receive the Cecil B. deMille Award at the 80th Golden Globe® Awards

Today the Hollywood Foreign Press Association® (HFPA) announced that Golden Globe Award® winner and six-time nominee Eddie Murphy will be honored with the coveted Cecil B. deMille Award at the 80th Annual Golden Globe Awards.
The highly acclaimed star of legendary films such as 48 HoursTrading Places, Beverly Hills Cop, Coming to America, The Nutty ProfessorDreamgirls, and others will accept the honor at the 2023 Golden Globe Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, Jan. 10, 2023 airing live coast-to-coast from 5-8 p.m. PT/8-11 p.m. ET on NBC and streaming on Peacock.
“We’re honored to present this year’s Cecil B. deMille Award to the iconic and highly esteemed Mr. Eddie Murphy,” said HFPA President, Helen Hoehne. “We’re thrilled to be celebrating the lasting impact on film and television that his career – in front of and behind the camera – has had through the decades.”
The Cecil B. deMille Award, historically chosen by the HFPA Board of Directors, is presented to a talented individual for their outstanding contributions to the world of entertainment. Past recipients of the Award include Jane Fonda, George Clooney, Morgan Freeman, Oprah Winfrey, Robert De Niro, Audrey Hepburn, Harrison Ford, Jodie Foster, Sophia Loren, Steven Spielberg, Denzel Washington, Robin Williams, Tom Hanks, and more.
In a career that has spanned five decades, Murphy’s multi-faceted and moving performances, such as his role as singer James Thunder in “Dreamgirls,” have earned him a Golden Globe Award, SAG Award, Emmy Award, and Academy Award nomination.
Murphy was most recently seen starring in the Amazon streaming hit “Coming 2 America,” the long-awaited sequel to his 1988 box-office hit, as well as portraying legendary underground comic personality Rudy Ray Moore in the Netflix biopic “Dolemite Is My Name,” a performance that garnered him Golden Globes nominations for Best Picture Comedy/Musical and Lead Actor Motion Picture Musical or Comedy.
In 2020, he received an Emmy Award for Outstanding Guest Actor in a Comedy Series for his return to Saturday Night Live.
Murphy starred in the 1997 hit comedy The Nutty Professor in which he portrayed multiple characters and received Golden Globe and other award nominations. He also was the voice of Donkey in the Oscar-winning animated film Shrek and its sequel, Shrek 2, which is the top-grossing animated film of all time. Murphy won an Annie Award and earned BAFTA and MTV Movie Award nominations for his performance in the first Shrek, and he reprised the role of Donkey in the final installment of the hugely successful franchise, Shrek Goes Fourth. Murphy’s additional feature credits include Mulan, Dr. Dolittle, and Dr. Dolittle 2, Life, Bowfinger, Nutty Professor II: The Klumps, Daddy Day Care, Norbit, and the drama Mr. Church. Murphy’s upcoming projects include co-starring in the romantic comedy You People and producing and starring in Beverly Hills Cop 4. In 2015, Murphy received the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor Award from the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.
Produced by dick clark productions and Jesse Collins Entertainment in association with the HFPA, the Golden Globe® Awards are viewed in more than 210 territories worldwide. Helen Hoehne is president of the HFPA. Adam Stotsky, President of dick clark productions, and Barry Adelman, Executive VP of Television at dick clark productions will serve as executive producers.