HFPA, 75th Golden Globes Honored at the 55th Publicists Awards

The 55th Annual Publicists Awards gave a special award to the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) on its 75th anniversary celebration of the Golden Globe Awards. Meher Tatna, HFPA president, accepted the award on behalf of the association in the luncheon held March 2 at the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.

Tatna, in her acceptance remarks in the same ballroom where the Golden Globes are handed out in January each year, thanked the publicists “for this truly special honor…And a special shout out to our publicist friends.  This is one group that really knows who we are.  We are Golden Globes voters one time a year, and journalists year-round.  And I’m glad of this opportunity to reiterate my thanks to all of you that we work with each and every day.  Without your hard work on our behalf, setting up our screenings and press conferences, organizing set visits, providing us with press materials, we wouldn’t be able to do our jobs. We truly appreciate your efforts.”

Tatna added, “The HFPA was founded in 1943 by a few journalists who came together to get access to interviews with actors…Now we are 75 years old, representing 56 countries with a readership of 250 million.  Those of us who are TV journalists have an even wider reach.  And everyone knows that the international market is crucial to the success of most movies, so no convincing is necessary.

“We take pride in the fact that the success of our Golden Globes enables us to give back to the industry.  Our restoration efforts preserve Hollywood’s legacy.  Our scholarships to underrepresented students and grants to educational institutions support the next generation of storytellers.  Our donations support organizations fighting for the first amendment and the safety of journalists in war zones and areas of conflict.  And our commitment to humanitarian and disaster relief efforts help devastated communities get back on their feet.

“So, while you honor us, please know that you have helped make our success possible.  If we didn’t have the privilege of working with you to cover Hollywood for our readers and viewers, there would be no Golden Globe Awards.”

Tatna cited Janet R. Nepales, HFPA member from the Philippines (also this reporter’s wife), who was a finalist for the International Media Award. It was the first nomination for Nepales, who writes columns for Manila Bulletin and GMA 7. She is also the Los Angeles stringer of GMA 7.


HFPA President Meher Tatna and HFPA journalist Janet R. Nepales, a finalist for the International Media Award; and Andy Serkis, recipient of the Motion Picture Showman of the Year at the 55th Publicists Award.

hfpa/ruben v. nepales


A video commemorating the HFPA and Golden Globes’ 75th anniversary, which highlights the association’s philanthropy efforts over the years, was shown.

The Publicists Awards honor excellence in publicity and promotion for motion pictures and television programs. First held in 1962, the Publicists Awards luncheon has since grown to an event attended annually by up to 900 publicists and industry leaders. Entertainment publicists first formed a union in 1937 as the Screen Publicists Guild, the forerunner of the Publicists Guild. In 2002, the Publicists Guild merged with the International Cinematographers Guild (Local 600).

Other honorees included veteran actress Betty White, who received the Lifetime Achievement Award and accepted through a pre-recorded video. The award was presented by White’s longtime friend and contemporary and  The Mary Tyler Moore Show co-star Cloris Leachman who had the audience in stitches with her funny remarks, delivered with perfect comic timing and flair.

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes and War of the Planet of the Apes director Matt Reeves presented the Motion Picture Showman of the Year award to Andy Serkis, the brilliant English actor noted for his performance capture roles, from Gollum, King Kong, Captain Haddock/Sir Francis Haddock, Supreme Leader Snoke and Baloo in the coming film, “Mowgli.”

This Is Us creator and executive producer Dan Fogelman received the Television Showman of the Year Award from actor Milo Ventimiglia.

Presenters of the other awards included Keala Settle (The Greatest Showman), Kelly Marie Tran (Star Wars: The Last Jedi) and John Bailey, president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Tim Menke and Henri Bollinger served as co-chairs.