• Festivals

Kore-eda, Spike Lee Take Top Awards at Cannes 2018

BlacKkKlansman, Spike Lee’s instant Cannes hit, walked away with the Grand Prix, holding the second spot to Hirokazu Kore-eda’s Shoplifters, winner of the 2018 Palme d’Or.

The jury led by Cate Blanchett also awarded an unprecedented Special Palme d’Or to Jean-Luc Godard, for his Image Book, and for being, in Blanchett’s words, “a cinematic artist who is continually striving to define and re-define what cinema can be.” The award was accepted by The Image Book producers Fabrice Aragno and Mitra Farahani, who quoted one of the film’s final lines, “We are never sad enough for the world to be better.”

Two of three female-directed films in the main competition won awards: Nadine Labaki’s Capharnaum too the Jury and the Ecumenical Prizes, and Alice Rohrwacher’s Happy as Lazzaro took the screenplay prize, a tie with Jafar Anahi and Nader Saeivar’s 3 Faces.

Italian actor Marcello Fonte took home the award for best actor for his work on Dogman, with Samal Yeslyamova winning for Best Actress for her solo tour-the-force in Ayka.

In other competitions, Lukas Dhont’s debut film, Girl, won the Camera d’Or and the Queer Palm, with Ali Abbasi’s Border taking the top prize at the Un Certain Regard sidebar.

The Brazil-Portugal-France co-production Diamantino won the Critics’ Week, while Gaspar Noé’s controversial Climax won the top prize at the Directors’ Fortnight.


Palme d’Or: Shoplifters, Hirokazu Kore-eda

Grand Prix: BlacKkKlansman, Spike Lee

Director: Pawel Pawlikowski, Cold War

Actor: Marcello Fonte, Dogman

Actress: Samal Yeslyamova, Ayka

Jury Prize: Nadine Labaki, Capharnaum

Screenplay:Alice Rohrwacher, Happy as Lazzaro AND Jafar Panahi, Nader Saeivar, 3 Faces

Special Palme d’Or: Jean-Luc Godard


Camera d’Or: Girl, Lukas Dhont

Short Films Palme d’Or: All These Creatures, Charles Williams

Short Films Special Mention: On the Border, Shujun Wei

Golden Eye Documentary Prize: Samouni Road,  Stefano Savona

Ecumenical Jury Prize: Capharnaum, Nadine Labaki

Ecumenical Jury Special Mention: BlacKkKlansman, Spike Lee

Queer Palm: Girl, Lukas Dhont


Un Certain Regard Award: Ali Abbasi, Border

Best Director: Sergei Loznitsa, Donbass

Best Performance: Victor Polster, Girl

Best Screenplay: Meryem Benm’Barek, Sofia

Special Jury Prize: João Salaviza & Renée Nader Messora, The Dead and the Others


Art Cinema Award: Climax (Gaspar Noé)

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: The Trouble With You (Pierre Salvadori)

Europa Cinemas Label: Lucia’s Grace (Gianni Zanasi)

Illy Short Film Award: Skip Day (Patrick Bresnan, Ivete Lucas)


Grand Prize: Diamantino (Gabriel Abrantes, Daniel Schmidt)

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: Woman at War (Benedikt Erlingsson)

GAN Foundation Award for Distribution: Sir

Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award: Felix Maritaud, Sauvage.

Short Film: Hector Malot – The Last Day Of The Year (Jacqueline Lentzou)


Competition:  Burning (Lee Chang-dong)

Un Certain Regard: Girl (Lukas Dhont)

Directors’ Fortnight/Critics’ Week: One Day (Zsófa Szilagyi)


First Prize: The Summer of the Electric Lion, Diego Céspedes

Second Prize — TIE: Calendar, Igor Poplauhin AND The Storms in Our Blood, Shen Di