• Industry

NAACP Image Awards: “The Harder They Fall” Western is a Double Winner on Third of Five Ceremonies

Each weeknight NAACP Image Awards is revealing several winners via streaming presentations on the NAACP Image Awards’ website and YouTube in the lead up to a live show set to air on BET on Saturday, February 26 with the Golden Globe nominee Anthony Anderson hosting, Grammy winner Mary J. Blige performing, and Golden Globe nominee Samuel L. Jackson receiving the NAACP Chairman’s Award.

Monday’s opening night was focused on literary categories and four brand-new podcast categories. The second night’s focus was on writing and directing awards with Shaka King winning two NAACP Image Awards for his work on Judas and the Black Messiah. The filmmaker received his award for outstanding directing in a motion picture and shared the award for outstanding writing in a motion picture. Golden Globe nominee Barry Jenkins won NAACP Image Award for outstanding directing in a drama series for The Underground Railroad which received the Golden Globe for the Best Miniseries earlier this year. Golden Globe nominee Issa Rae won her first NAACP Image Award for outstanding writing in a comedy series for the fifth season of Insecure.


Wednesday night trophies included multiple various categories from outstanding documentary to outstanding children’s program and outstanding international motion picture film. Jeymes Samuel’s western The Harder They Fall received two NAACP Image Awards for outstanding breakthrough creative and outstanding ensemble cast led by Golden Globe winners Regina King and Idris Elba.



Other notable winners from night three included Meg Deloatch’s sitcom Family Reunion which got an award for outstanding children’s program, and Danny Boyd Jr., who played the Golden Globe-winning Halle Berry’s onscreen son in her directorial debut Bruised, won NAACP Image Award for outstanding breakthrough performance in a motion picture. Brazilian drama Seven Prisoners won as an outstanding international motion picture.

Below is a complete list of the awards handed out on Tuesday and Wednesday nights. You can watch the second and third nights of the ceremony right here on NAACP YouTube channel.


Outstanding Short-Form Series – Comedy or Drama

“Between the Scenes” – The Daily Show


Outstanding Short-Form Series or Special – Reality/Nonfiction

“Token of a Great Day” – Lynching Postcards:


Outstanding Short-Form (Live Action)

“When The Sun Sets (Lakutshon’ Ilanga)”


Outstanding Short-Form (Animated)

“Us Again”


Outstanding Writing in a Comedy Series

Issa Rae- “Insecure” – Episode #510 “Everything’s Gonna Be, Okay?!”


Outstanding Writing in a Drama Series

Davita Scarlett- “The Good Fight” – 505


Outstanding Writing in a Television Movie or Special

Abdul Williams- “Salt-N-Pepa”


Outstanding Writing in a Motion Picture

Shaka King, Will Berson, Kenny Lucas, Keith Lucas- “Judas and the Black Messiah”


Outstanding Directing in a Comedy Series

Bashir Salahuddin, Diallo Riddle – “South Side” – “Tornado” (208)


Outstanding Directing in a Drama Series

Barry Jenkins- “The Underground Railroad”


Outstanding Directing in a Television Movie or Special

Kenny Leon- “Robin Roberts Presents: Mahalia”


Outstanding Directing in a Documentary

Samantha Knowles, Yoruba Richen, Geeta Gandbhir, Nadia Hallgren- “Black and Missing”- Ep 103


Outstanding Directing in a Motion Picture

Shaka King- “Judas and the Black Messiah”


Special Award: Activist of The Year

Scot X. Esdaile


Outstanding Talk Series

“Red Table Talk”


Outstanding Host in a Talk or News/Information (Series or Special) – Individual or Ensemble

Jada Pinkett Smith, Adrienne Banfield-Norris, Willow Smith- “Red Table Talk”


Outstanding Reality Program/Reality Competition Series

“Wild ‘n Out”


Outstanding Host in a Reality/Reality Competition, Game Show or Variety (Series or Special) – Individual or Ensemble

Trevor Noah- “The Daily Show with Trevor Noah”


Outstanding Variety or Game Show (Series or Special)

“The Daily Show with Trevor Noah”


Outstanding News/Information (Series or Special)

“The ReidOut”


Outstanding Documentary (Television)

“High on the Hog: How African American Cuisine Transformed America”


Outstanding Children’s Program

“Family Reunion”


Outstanding Animated Series

“We The People”


Outstanding Character Voice-Over Performance (Television)

Cree Summer-  “Rugrats”


Outstanding Character Voice-Over Performance – Motion Picture

Letitia Wright- “Sing 2”


Outstanding Breakthrough Performance in a Motion Picture

Danny Boyd Jr.- “Bruised”


Outstanding Breakthrough Creative (Motion Picture)

Jeymes Samuel- “The Harder They Fall”


Outstanding Ensemble Cast in a Motion Picture

“The Harder They Fall”


Outstanding International Motion Picture

7 Prisoners


Outstanding Guest Performance

Maya Rudolph- “Saturday Night Live”


Special Award: Roy Wilkins Civil Rights Award

The Mexican American Legislative Caucus, Texas House Democratic Caucus, and Texas Legislative Black Caucus